Snilloc's Snowball UE p53

A place for rules questions to be posted. Rules questions should be asked here, not in OOC chat or FPMs. The DM's will answer whenever they can. Rules questions are not our focus, so it may take some time for questions to be responded to. Please be patient.

Moderator: Dungeon Masters

Snilloc's Snowball UE p53

Postby J.C. » Wed May 11, 2016 9:41 am

Evocation [Cold)
Level: Sor/Wiz 1
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: 0 ft.
Effect: Orb of cold
.Duration: 1 round/ level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: Yes

An icy sphere of bitter cold appears in your hand, harming
neither you nor your equipment. You can use the Snilloc's ·
snowball to strike opponents with a melee touch attack, or you
can throw the orb as a ranged touch attack (maximum range
120 feet, no range penalty). Either use deals 1d6 points of cold
damage plus 1 point per caster level (maximum 1d6+5). Right
after you hurl the icy sphere, another appears in your hand.
You may throw up to one Snilloc's Snowball per caster level
(maximum five orbs) before exhausting the spell.

Material Component: A small bit of ivory.

Ok, the question may be obvious to some, but for the others, here it is.

Does tossing more than one sphere take a Standard Action for each after the first, or are they like the Magic Missile and all thrown in the same Standard Action of casting the spell?

*edit* The question has also come up that this being a Standard Action, the first Snowball must be held and used in the Next Round after casting the spell, and subsequent rounds for the other Snowballs. Since there is are other spells that let you cast and use in the same round, is this true?
Last edited by J.C. on Tue May 24, 2016 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Posts: 585
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:56 pm
Location: Dizzyland USoA

Re: Snilloc's Snowball UE p53

Postby Murdling » Wed May 11, 2016 10:56 am

They are thrown as ranged touch attacks, because they become simple thrown weapons after creation. You can throw whatever your attack bonus allows, if you take a full attack action. Otherwise it's one per round (and the action for casting the spell does not include a free throw on that first round)
User avatar
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Michigan, Bay City

Re: Snilloc's Snowball UE p53

Postby Kemian » Tue May 24, 2016 10:30 am

The answer to your question is in the casting time which is a standard action. The act of making a single Ranged Touch attack or a ranged attack is also a standard action. You can only make one Standard action per round.
User avatar
Posts: 967
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:34 am

Re: Snilloc's Snowball UE p53

Postby Stam » Tue May 24, 2016 10:31 am

Touch Spells In Combat: Here.

If the spell specifies "Touch" as its range, you gets the free attack. Snilloc's does not, so ... nope.
User avatar
Posts: 1763
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:50 pm

Return to Rules Questions & Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest