Control Sand

A place for rules questions to be posted. Rules questions should be asked here, not in OOC chat or FPMs. The DM's will answer whenever they can. Rules questions are not our focus, so it may take some time for questions to be responded to. Please be patient.

Moderator: Dungeon Masters

Control Sand

Postby J.C. » Fri Jul 01, 2016 8:09 pm

Sandstorm p113
CONTROL SAND
Transmutation
Level: Cleric 3, druid 3
Components: V, S, DF
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Long (400 ft. + 40 ft./level)
Area: Dust or sand in a volume of 10
ft./level wide by 10 ft./level long
by 2 ft./level deep (S)
Duration: 10 min./level (D)
Saving Throw: None; see text
Spell Resistance: No

Depending on the version you choose, control sand raises or lowers fine particles of material, such as dust or sand. For either version, the caster can reduce one horizontal dimension by half and double the other horizontal dimension.
Lower Sand: This effect causes sand to reduce its depth by as much as 2 feet per caster level, to a minimum depth of 1 inch. The dust and sand is lowered within a square-shaped depression whose sides are up to 10 feet long per caster level. In extremely large and deep sand piles, such as a sand dune, the spell creates a pit that sweeps creatures downward (without dealing damage), putting them at risk and rendering them unable to leave by normal movement for the duration of the spell. When cast on earth elementals, dust paraelementals, and other earth- or dust-based creatures, this spell acts as a slow spell (Will negates). The spell has no effect on other creatures.
Raise Sand: This effect causes dust and sand to rise in height, just as the lower sand version causes it to lower. Creatures and objects on top of the dust or sand are raised along with the top level of sand.


Now, what I am wondering is, IF this is cast on a sand dune and opens up say a 80ftx80ftx16ft deep hole(8th level caster) and sucks foe into that hole, can the dispelling of the spell cause that hole to fill in from the sides trapping the contents within, or does it raise the contents back up to normal level? The wording is telling me that it more moves the sand to the sides as it lowers and it has to leave at least 1 inch of sand at the bottom.

*sighs* another random braincell implosion.
User avatar
J.C.
 
Posts: 585
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:56 pm
Location: Dizzyland USoA

Re: Control Sand

Postby Murdling » Sat Jul 02, 2016 11:28 am

Not automatically no. The ending of the spell's duration causes the control over the sand to end, it doesn't make the sand instantly jump back to the position it was in before the spell happened. So if your spell is cancelled in some form while they are in the pit then the magic will cease to hold the walls of the pit up and it will cave in to a degree, but not instantly fill in from top to bottom. There would probably be reflex saves and balance checks involved.
User avatar
Murdling
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Michigan, Bay City


Return to Rules Questions & Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron