Manople and other weapons that grant a Shield bonus

A place for rules questions to be posted. Rules questions should be asked here, not in OOC chat or FPMs. The DM's will answer whenever they can. Rules questions are not our focus, so it may take some time for questions to be responded to. Please be patient.

Moderator: Dungeon Masters

Manople and other weapons that grant a Shield bonus

Postby Stam » Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:07 pm

Per a discussion with Ian in the OOC:

Wielding a Manople (Sandstorm p. 97) is considered as using a shield for the purpose of feats or class abilities.

Poking around other books, I figure this would also apply to the Dwarven Buckler-Axe and Gnome Turtle Blade (both in CWar) as they use the exact same mechanics.

While a Broadblade Short Sword does grant a bonus to AC, Ian noted separately that as is not a Shield bonus and never references a shield at any point, that does not do the same.

Whether the Two Weapon Defense feat is considered use of a shield...I dunno, but it's a fairly poor feat line so I'd hope not.
User avatar
Stam
 
Posts: 1763
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:50 pm

Return to Rules Questions & Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron